Massachusetts Wage and Hour Laws: Minimum Wage
Determining how much to pay your employees can be difficult. On one hand, you want them to be happy and able to support themselves; on the other hand, you want to keep as much of the profits as possible. Luckily, the law provides some sort of guidance. The Fair Labor Standards Act (FSLA) of 1938 is the law that created the right to a minimum wage. When first adopted, federal minimum wage was 25 cents per hour , which equals around 3 current US dollars, and now in 2019, federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour.
In addition to the federal minimum wage, most states have implemented their own, higher minimum wage. In Massachusetts, minimum wage is $12. This means that if your employees work in Massachusetts, you are required to pay them the higher state wage rather than the federal wage. Massachusetts law also provides that the state minimum wage will always be at least ten cents above minimum wage. These laws are very strict, as the government that no company takes advantage of their employees. If you have more questions about minimum wage, please contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org